HOW TO RECOVER A DELETED INSTAGRAM ACCOUNT 

Find out how you can recover a deleted Instagram account. Written by MAU. Senior Digital Marketing Specialist at eDigital.



HOW TO RECOVER A DELETED INSTAGRAM ACCOUNT 

If your account was deleted by you or someone with your password, there’s no way to restore it. Full point. I am sorry you hear this.

You can create a new account with the same email address you used before, but you may not be able to get the same username.

If your account has been simply deactivated for not following Instagram’s Community Guidelines and you believe this was a mistake, you can request to get it back by filling in this form.

Two things to remember for next time:

YOU SURELY WANT TO DELETE YOUR INSTAGRAM ACCOUNT

When you delete your Instagram account, Instagram will permanently remove your uploaded content: your profile, photos, videos, comments, likes and followers.

Please note that information that other Instagram account holders have posted about you on Instagram is not part of your Instagram account and will not be deleted by Instagram.

Before deleting your Instagram account, you may want to log in and download a copy of your information (like your photos and posts) from Instagram.

How to download all your Instagram content?

Steps:

  1. Go to your Instagram app, clicking on “Settings”
  2. Click on “Security”
  3. then tap “Download data”
  4. Enter your Instagram password
  5. Viola! Instagram will email you a file with your photos, comments, profile information and more. It may take up to 48 hours to send it to you.
  6. Once you receive the email, the link will only work for four days. Below is a screenshot of the data download email confirmation from Instagram.
Instagram data download email confirmation

Instagram data download email confirmation

Remember: After your account has been deleted, you will NOT have access to Instagram’s Data Download tool.

Once you are 100% sure, you want to fully delete your Instagram account, follow this link.

YOU JUST WANT TO TAKE A BREAK

If you’d just like to take a break, you can temporarily disable your account instead, to do that you have to follow the below steps:

Steps:

  • log in from a computer (you cannot disable an Instagram account from the app)
  • then click “Profile
  • then click “Edit Profile
  • Scroll down, then click “Temporarily disable my account” text link at the bottom of the page.



Need Instagram marketing support or training? Contact us below ⬇

This article was brought to you by…

MAU. award winning digital marketing specialist at eDigital Agency

Mau is a Senior Digital Marketing Specialist with 15+ years helping clients solve their digital marketing challenges. Mau is a certified Facebook & Adwords Professional, Certified SEO Consultant and industry speaker. Mau trains marketers via Strategy Workshops & Training Sessions inc his popular Digital Marketing Plan & Social Media Plan templates. Subscribe to Mau’s e-newsletter connect on LinkedIn Instagram Facebook

eDigital – Australia’s “Digital Marketing” Destination